Legendary Jamaican producer Donovan Germain and his Penthouse label productions have made an indelible mark in the history of reggae music.

Producer Donovan Germain

Garnett Silk

To commemorate 25 years since the founding of Penthouse recording studio, VP Records and Germain have collaborated on the new release Penthouse Records 25 Years – The Journey Continues.

The two CD/DVD collection will be available on January 14, 2014.

The Penthouse Records’ 25 audio discs highlight essential hits, new tracks from its current roster and two unreleased tracks from the legendary Garnett Silk (My Favorite Song and a remix of his classicEverything I Got).

Hosted by Germain himself, the bonus DVD is an hour-and-45-minute journey through the history of the studio and label and features many of the key players in Jamaican music. Interviews include original Penthouse crew members Tony Rebel, Richie Stephens, Wayne Wonder, Marcia Griffiths, and Beres Hammond.

The Penthouse studio, originally located at 56 Slipe Road in Kingston, Jamaica, produced many of the genre’s biggest hits during the late 1980s and 1990s and has continued to churn out chart-topping anthems since relocating in 1998 to its current address, 6 Ballater Avenue.

Germain produced world-class recordings alongside the island’s top engineers and studio musicians of the time – including Steven Stanley, Dave and Tony Kelly, Michael ‘Coolie’ Cooper, Steely and Clevie, Sly and Robbie, Firehouse Crew, Steven ‘Lenky’ Marsden and Mafia and Fluxy – and played an instrumental role in developing the careers of reggae stars Buju Banton (cranking out the most No. 1 singles for the reggae icon to date), Wayne Wonder, Cutty Ranks, Richie Stephens, Hammond, Romain Virgo, Queen Ifrica and more.

In addition to these artistes, the deluxe 47-song collection features today’s crop of Penthouse artistes, including Dalton Harris, D Major, Exco Levi, RC and Shuga.

“It’s all about the next hit song,” said Germain,
Disc 1

1. One In A Million – Sanchez

2. Deep In My Heart – Marcia Griffiths

3. Chaka On The Move – Chaka Demus

4. Ting Deh (Thing Deh) – Nigger Mikey

5. Love Mi Haffi Get – Beres Hammond

6. Pon Mi Nozzle – Cutty Ranks

7. Tom’s Diner – Michigan & Smiley

8. Love Within The Music – Beres Hammond, Dennis Brown, Freddie McGregor & Glen Ricks

9. Brought Me Love – Dennis Brown

10. Crying Fool – Tiger

11. Brinks – General Degree

12. Prophet – Capleton

13. Who Say – Buju Banton & Beres Hammond

14. Treat The Woman – Terry Ganzie

15. Wicked And Wild – Nadine Sutherland

16. Everything I Got (Remix) – Garnett Silk

17. Order – Terry Fabulous

18. Spoiled By Your Love – Carol Gonzales

19. No Respect (Remix) – Buju Banton

20. I’d Die Without You – Wayne Wonder

21. Forever – Richie Stephens

22. Oh God Of My Salvation – Buju Banton

23. Good Director – Buccaneer, Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths

Disc 2

1. El Shaddai – Jahmali

2. Tears On My Pillow – Twiggi

3. Nah Get No Bligh – Sean Paul

4. Mr. Sea – Da’Ville

5. My Pride And Joy – Beres Hammond

6. Go If You Want – Buju Banton

7. Below The Waist – Queen Ifrica

8. United We Stand – Freddie McGregor

9. All My Life – Marcia Griffiths & Da’Ville

10. Mi Caan Sleep – Romain Virgo

11. I Feel Good – Beres Hammond

12. Lioness On The Rise – Queen Ifrica

13. I Can’t Recall – Tony Rebel

14. Bleaching Shop – Exco Levi

15. Brickwall – Richie Stephens & Dennis Brown

16. Comfort Zone – Busy Signal

17. No Candle Light – Beres Hammond

18. When I Was Your Man – RC

19. You Will Know – Dalton Harris

20. My Favorite Song – Garnett Silk

21. Real Know Real – D Major

22. Reggae Is Life – Sherieta

23. Ebony – Shuga

24. Saxophone Stories – Dean Fraser

Disc 3 – Penthouse 25 DVD

Run time 1:45